Friday, May 5, 2017

Up and Coming: I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo

I Believe in a Thing Called Love by Maurene Goo


Release Date: May 30, 2017


In academics and on the soccer field, Desi Lee is unstoppable. Since she was a kid, Desi has been living by the belief that there is nothing in her life she can't excel at if she doesn't try hard enough at it. That's what has made her number one in her class and it's what's going to get her into Stanford, her dream university, to study pre-med.

The only place her extreme levels of stick-to-it-ness seem to consistently come up short is in her dating life. Her best friends Fiona and Wes call her a "flailure" and she lives up to that name time and again. Whether it's ill-timed wardrobe malfunctions or just making things exceedingly awkward, Desi cannot figure out how to excel at romance. After one particularly embarrassing mishap, Desi is ready to try anything to change things up. Enter: her dad's K-Dramas.

Her dad loves to stream Korean television dramas, but they've never been Desi's cup of tea. But, after a weekend binge-watching them, she can't deny that they seem to have just the kind of romantic advice she's been looking for. After all, in the end there is always a kiss, even if it takes twenty-four steps (or thereabouts) to reach it.

When her new plan seems to snag the attention of the very attractive (and nice, artistic and funny) Luca, Desi is sure that it is because of her new list. But how can she keep from descending into flailure when things don't go as the K-Dramas promised?

This is a hilarious rom-com for fans of Leila Sales and Louise Rennison. Desi's flailures are so awkwardly cringe-worthy that you will be laughing out loud as you read them. She is a singularly funny narrator who you will not soon forget. Check out I Believe in a Thing Called Love and be prepared to fall (possibly on your face) for Desi.

More to read:

Last Minute Reviews! Mostly Good Girls by Leila Sales

Books to Pack: Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison

Up and Coming: Past Perfect by Leila Sales

Top 10 before 2010: Into the Wild Nerd Yonder

The Breakfast Club Week: The Brain





No comments: