Friday, February 10, 2017

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

 We're getting closer to NoVA Teen Book Festival! Today we're highlighting another of the festival's featured authors:

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

Joanna Gordon knows who she is. She is out and proud, she's Dana's best friend and she's also a preacher's daughter who has a strong culture of faith. When her dad remarries (again), she expects that her life will go on much as it has before. But, when it's decided that they are relocating to Rome, Georgia: where her step mother is from, it turns out that her senior year is going to be drastically different than she expected.

She will be attending a new school in a new town and living in a new house. In addition to all this, her dad throws her one more curve ball: he'd appreciate it if she "laid low." Translation: he wants her to keep her sexuality quiet in their new town.  He says that he knows this is a huge ask, but promises her a trip with Dana after graduation as well as a chance at a teen-focused radio show on his radio network in exchange for "playing it quiet," so even though it makes her uncomfortable, Joanna agrees.

When Jo begins her school year, she finds herself in with a crowd of girls who attend the youth group at her grandmother's church. At first, it seems like keeping her secret will be easy enough. Her new friends are fun and she enjoys this Twilight Zone look at attending football games and sleepovers. But, she finds herself drawn to the enigmatic, golf-playing Mary Carlson. When it becomes clear that Mary Carlson likes Jo every bit as non-platonically as Jo does, keeping secrets turns into telling lies and Joanna doesn't see a way out that doesn't hurt or disappoint someone.

This is a really sweet romance with excellent banter for fans of Dumplin, Anna and the French Kiss and Ask the Passengers.

More to read:

Teen Review: Ask the Passengers by A.S. King

Teen Review: Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Radio Week: 'Dumplin' by Julie Murphy

Friday Lit Spotlight: Anna and the French Kiss? Yes, Please!


No comments: