Monday, May 2, 2016

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Thair

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Thair

Laia has known loss, her parents, former leaders of the resistance, were murdered long ago. She and her brother have lived with their grandparents ever since. Laia would have been happy to lay low and make jams with her grandmother, but when Darin, Laia's brother, is caught with a notebook that seems to confirm that he's working for the same movement her parents died for, it sets off a chain of events that means her days at the market are over forever. Instead, they are replaced with days as a spy for the Scholars in exchange for help finding her brother.

As the son of the commandant and a near graduate of the Empire's military academy, Elias should be a model soldier with faith in the cause and a belief that his commanders know best. Instead, he spends his days plotting ways to escape. Until it becomes clear that graduation will not free him from the grips of his mother and the others in power. Instead, it only brings him a new set of trials that he may never escape from even if he is the winner.

Elias and Laia are both in situations they'd never have chosen on their own. When circumstances throw them together, how can they help each other when any loyalty or attachments might throw away their chances of escape forever?

This is a fast moving adventure which will have a sequel! It's perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Jewel.


More to read:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

New E Only Novella: Steel Scars by Victoria Aveyard

New E-Only Novella: The Queen Song by Victoria Aveyard

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Teen Wolf Week: Top 5 Ladies Coming Into Their Powers for Lydia

Champion by Marie Lu

Teen Review: Cinder by All TAB Author Marissa Meyer





1 comment:

Johanna said...

Ember in the Ashes is an awesome book!!! It seems like any old high fiction book when summarized, but the writing pulls you in until you finish at 2 a.m. and frantically figure out when the sequel is coming out. This is one you should not skip.