Wednesday, April 27, 2016

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Jo has spent her life learning all the things you need to know if you're going to be a proper wife one day. When she wasn't busy learning needlepoint and piano, she filled her remaining minutes reading her favorite journalists, like Nellie Bly and wishing she was preparing for a life writing her own stories.

When Jo's father dies under mysterious circumstances, she suddenly finds some of her wishes granted, but in a way she would never have asked for. She can't rest until she knows the truth about what happens to her father and that means finding help from Eddie, a young newspaper man who seems to have his finger on the pulse of the happenings in the underbelly of New York.

As she gets swept up in the investigation, she can't help but be a little thrilled by it all. Eddie treats her like an equal and she's getting to move outside of the tiny social circle she's always lived in. But, that all comes with a price, if there's a murderer out there, Jo is surely going to end up in the cross-hairs. And then there's the little matter of Bram, the very nice man her family intends her to marry.

These Shallow Graves is a beautifully written historical mystery for fans of A Mad Wicked Folly or Lelia Rasheed's Somerset series.

More to read:

Up and Coming: Diamonds and Deceit by Lelia Rasheed

Cinders and Sapphires by Lelia Rasheed

A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Walker

Read This, Watch That: Children of the Revolution Edition

No comments: