Monday, November 30, 2015

Up and Coming: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure

Up and Coming: This Raging Light by Estelle Laure



Release Date: January 5, 2016



Lucille and her sister Wren are having a bad year. Their father had a breakdown and their mother decided everything was too much and left the girls with a few hundred dollars and an empty house. At first the girls believe that their mother will return after recharging her batteries with a quick vacation, but when the days she's gone stretch into weeks, Lucille has to come up with a plan.

Lucille's plan involves getting a job, getting her best friend to babysit her sister while she's at said job and ABSOLUTELY staying away from her best friend's twin brother, the beautiful and kind Digby Jones. She 100% has enough on her plate without dealing with her eternal crush on the unavailable boy who she used to day dream about, back before she was the sole caretaker for her little sister and before she was the one who worked to keep the lights of their house on. But as things start to spin further and further out of Lucille's control, she can't deny that having Digby as a rock is one of the few things keeping her and Wren from falling.

This might seem like a small story, but the beautiful writing makes it soar. Ms. Laure does a fabulous job depicting Lucille who is committed to doing her best for her sister, even as she feels swept under by the weight of adult responsibilities she's suddenly facing. Lucille is trying to keep all the stuff she thinks is extra, like her desire to paint and her crush on Digby, under wraps and that just makes her a ticking time bomb. Holding all this stuff inside of her can only last for so long and the reader is swept up in worrying if she'll find a solution before she explodes from all this tension!

This is a gorgeous first book and it's perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Melina Marchetta. We're very excited to see what will be next from this author.

More to read:

Beach Week: Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

The Piper's Son, Melina Marchetta

I Second That: I'll Give You The Sun

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Author Interview: Trish Doller talks Books, Families and Hopefully Ever Afters









No comments: