Monday, September 14, 2015

Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm


Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm & Matthew Holm

Sunny is spending the summer in Florida. She's not headed to a theme park or the beach... she's headed to her grandpa's. Sunny quickly learns that most of the people she'll be hanging out with this summer will be...well...old.

But, luckily the old people turn out to be pretty fun (and have excellent advice to give, like you probably will want that dinner roll later). And there just happens to be one other kid her age and he is in love with comics. Sunny is soon having enough fun that she can forget about why the rest of her family hasn't come with her to Florida...most of the time at least.

 This is a super sweet graphic novel for fans of books like Chiggers and Roller Girl (see our full review here), (and also for teens who grew up reading the Holm's other famous graphic novel series, Baby Mouse). There are things in Sunny's life that are not so great, but she's trying very hard to take her grandpa's advice and keep her "sunny side up." For one last summer read, check out Sunny Side Up today.  


More to Read:

Middle School Monday: Eighth Grade is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff by Jennifer L. Holm

Middle School Monday: Sisters by Raina Telgemeier

Friday Lit Spotlight: Great Graphics with Girls

 


No comments: