Thursday, February 12, 2015

Teen Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Neeka takes a look at one of last year's most talked about titles:

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Books that break your heart but completely satisfy you are difficult to find. Luckily, there is We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Cady is a rich teenager who visits her family’s private island each summer. This is the tale of those summers, and how she has changed so drastically after the accident she had on the island one summer. She tries to fill in the missing puzzle pieces of her accident, and when the bits and pieces of memories all connect, Cady’s reaction is one of horror....but let’s not get carried away.

Every summer on the island, the four Liars and their families reunite. The Liars consist of Cady, her cousins Johnny and Mirren, and Gat, a friend of Johnny’s, whom she is hopelessly in love with. This novel is more than just a summer romance, though. There are moments of absolute poetry found in the novel, along with intense metaphors that will stagger you.

We Were Liars  certainly inflicts the kind of empathy that can only be felt for fictional characters. But that’s not to say it isn’t worth the ride. Perfect for fans of books like Sara Zarr’s Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, We Were Liars is a book you won’t soon forget.

More to Read:

Up and Coming: We Were Liars

Notes from Y'ALLFEST: My True Love Gave To Me Edition

Teen Wolf Week: Top 5 Ladies Coming Into Their Powers for Lydia

You Oughta Be in Pictures: F is for Feminism. And Frankie.

 

 

 

 

No comments: