Thursday, February 6, 2014

Up and Coming: The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry

The Summer I Found You by Jolene Perry

Release Date: March 1, 2014

Kate should be having a carefree senior year with her perfect boyfriend. She's gotten in to college, secured a roommate and done all the things that you're supposed to in order to be a success and have your parents happy with you. Instead, Kate is struggling to come to grips with a diagnosis of type 1 diabetes that's left her feeling a lot less than perfect. When her boyfriend decides he wants to be a single man for his last summer before college, Kate is at a loss.

Aidan is not at all where he thought he'd be at this time last year. He had found a place for himself in the army and was certain he'd make a career out of it. But now he's crashing at his aunts and uncles place after an IED took his career and his right arm in one blow. Now he feels like he's back to square one having to relearn and refigure out what he wants to do with his life.

These two find kindred spirits in each other. Aidan feels like he can be himself with Kate, especially because she didn't know him "before" and he doesn't see pity in her eyes when she looks at him. Kate relaxes when she's around Aidan, she doesn't have to be the perfect version of herself with him. But, at the same time, she can't seem to find a way to tell him about her condition. Everyone else in her life is worried about how she handle her sugars and her diet, she just wants to keep Aidan separate from that part of her life. What's one secret anyway?

This was a romance for fans of Jessi Kirby or Susane Colasanti, each of the characters had a lot going on in their lives to deal with outside of their relationship. Both Aidan and Kate find something safe and reassuring in each other and their bond is able to be built based on that. You will want to shake Kate for not sharing what's actually going on in her life with Aidan, but at the same time, it's not hard to see what she's trying to do, no matter how wrong it is. It's nice also to read a romance where the guy is the one who is making the smart and mature emotional choices. If you're looking for a sweet and realistic romance between two people who could use a break, this is a perfect choice.

More to read:

Up and Coming: Something Like Normal by Trish Doller

2 Authors, 1 Theme: Soldiers with Secrets

In Honor by Jessi Kirby

Top 5: A Memorial Day Special

Out of Play by Jolene Perry and Nyrae Dawn

 

No comments: