Wednesday, May 4, 2016

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

 Librarian M shares her latest and greatest read:

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

Faith’s father was a respected naturalist, but after one of his recent finds is called into question scandal ensues and her family flees to a remote island town to try to escape the whispers and stares. She generally engages in some light snooping as a matter of course (no one will tell her anything, both because of her age and because she is a girl) and after her father’s death she starts reading his papers in earnest to try to prove that he was murdered. She discovers that her father has been hiding a tree that feeds on lies and promises to reveal a truth to any person who eats its fruit. Faith decides the best way to find out what happened to her father is to feed the tree and eat one of the fruits.

Aside from being an intriguing mystery, this book explores issues like women’s place in the scientific world, how scientific advances might affect religious belief, and obsession with advancement at the expense of others. Recommended for readers who like mysteries, historical fiction, or who are just looking for something interesting to read.

More to read:

 These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

 A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Walker

Cinders and Sapphires by Lelia Rasheed



 

Monday, May 2, 2016

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Thair

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Thair

Laia has known loss, her parents, former leaders of the resistance, were murdered long ago. She and her brother have lived with their grandparents ever since. Laia would have been happy to lay low and make jams with her grandmother, but when Darin, Laia's brother, is caught with a notebook that seems to confirm that he's working for the same movement her parents died for, it sets off a chain of events that means her days at the market are over forever. Instead, they are replaced with days as a spy for the Scholars in exchange for help finding her brother.

As the son of the commandant and a near graduate of the Empire's military academy, Elias should be a model soldier with faith in the cause and a belief that his commanders know best. Instead, he spends his days plotting ways to escape. Until it becomes clear that graduation will not free him from the grips of his mother and the others in power. Instead, it only brings him a new set of trials that he may never escape from even if he is the winner.

Elias and Laia are both in situations they'd never have chosen on their own. When circumstances throw them together, how can they help each other when any loyalty or attachments might throw away their chances of escape forever?

This is a fast moving adventure which will have a sequel! It's perfect for fans of Red Queen and The Jewel.


More to read:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

New E Only Novella: Steel Scars by Victoria Aveyard

New E-Only Novella: The Queen Song by Victoria Aveyard

The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Teen Wolf Week: Top 5 Ladies Coming Into Their Powers for Lydia

Champion by Marie Lu

Teen Review: Cinder by All TAB Author Marissa Meyer





Friday, April 29, 2016

The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry



Librarian M shares her latest favorite:
 
The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

Botille lives in Provence (modern-day southern France) in the 13th century. She helps her two sisters run a tavern and their lives are finally starting to feel settled and happy. Then, during a short trip, Botille finds a girl named Dolssa almost dead by the river and decides to bring her home to care for her bringing both miracles and trouble to her whole town.

Dolssa is Catholic mystic and is wanted as a heretic by the Catholic Church. She escaped being burned alive and has been evading a persistent friar for weeks. The town venerates her at first, but once Church officials begin arriving, the villagers realize how much danger they are in.

Berry has clearly done a lot of research for this story, and the details about the town and its inhabitants are fascinating. The story is also deeply engrossing and though the book is on the long side, I flew through it in a weekend. Highly recommended for fans of historical fiction or anyone looking to get lost in a good book.

More to read:


All the Truth That’s in Me by Julie Berry

I Second That: Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

What I Wish I Read: High Fantasy

Guest Post: The Attolia Series by Megan Whalen Turner




 

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

These Shallow Graves by Jennifer Donnelly

Jo has spent her life learning all the things you need to know if you're going to be a proper wife one day. When she wasn't busy learning needlepoint and piano, she filled her remaining minutes reading her favorite journalists, like Nellie Bly and wishing she was preparing for a life writing her own stories.

When Jo's father dies under mysterious circumstances, she suddenly finds some of her wishes granted, but in a way she would never have asked for. She can't rest until she knows the truth about what happens to her father and that means finding help from Eddie, a young newspaper man who seems to have his finger on the pulse of the happenings in the underbelly of New York.

As she gets swept up in the investigation, she can't help but be a little thrilled by it all. Eddie treats her like an equal and she's getting to move outside of the tiny social circle she's always lived in. But, that all comes with a price, if there's a murderer out there, Jo is surely going to end up in the cross-hairs. And then there's the little matter of Bram, the very nice man her family intends her to marry.

These Shallow Graves is a beautifully written historical mystery for fans of A Mad Wicked Folly or Lelia Rasheed's Somerset series.

More to read:

Up and Coming: Diamonds and Deceit by Lelia Rasheed

Cinders and Sapphires by Lelia Rasheed

A Mad, Wicked Folly by Sharon Biggs Walker

Read This, Watch That: Children of the Revolution Edition

Monday, April 25, 2016

Infinite In Between by Carolyn Mackler

Infinite In Between by Carolyn Mackler

When you're a freshman in a new school, it can seem like you're entirely alone. That's why some high schools have orientation for their students. At the school where Zoe, Jake, Whitney, Gregor and Mia will be attending, they are sorted into a group to come up with a quick get-to-know-you project.

They decide on a letter to their future selves and promise not to read them until their graduation. Over the coming four years there will be crushes and disappointments, injuries, kisses and even deaths. Infinite In Between follows the five students as they move from freshmen with big dreams to seniors who have to figure out what to do next.

If you like realistic stories about teens who might be in your classes, this is the one for you. It's its own kind of time travel, going from the first to the last day of high school.



More to read:

You Oughta Be in Pictures Week: Our Future is Now

Catching Up with TATAL

Take Me Away

The Breakfast Club Week: The Princess

The Breakfast Club Week: The Basket Case

Breakfast Club Week: The Criminal

The Breakfast Club Week: The Jock

The Breakfast Club Week: The Brain

Friday, April 22, 2016

Illuminae by by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The day after Kady dumps Ezra there's a large scale military attack, decimating their home base, destroying the planet they grew up on and killing hundreds of people. They both thought that the break-up was the worst thing they'd have to deal with in 2575, but now Ezra is flying spacecrafts for a megacorporation's military forces and Kady is learning how to hack the spaceship she's been rescued by in search her mother's whereabouts.

But there's more at stake than Kady or Ezra could possibly know. Illuminae includes all the files from the officers on both ships, the transcripts of the surveillance cameras and instant messages from Ezra's crew. It's clear that these ships are barrelling towards something dramatic, something bigger than either Kady or Ezra can understand by themselves. If they want to save their own lives, and the lives of everyone they've ever known, these two exes will have to work together to unravel a grand conspiracy.

This is a space adventure that is so cleverly put together, you'll be heading back to the beginning.to pour over all the evidence and see what you missed on the first go-round. It's exciting, unexpected and unlike anything you've read before. Illuminae is a totally original space adventure that you won't want to miss!

More to read:

The Starbound Trilogy by Amie Kaufman and Meghan Spooner

Read This, Watch That: Stop that Dancing









Wednesday, April 20, 2016

Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert

https://libcat.arlingtonva.us/Record/.b14807324?searchId=1171996&recordIndex=2&page=1&searchSource=local
Conviction by Kelly Loy Gilbert

Everyone knows Braden's dad. They listen to his preaching on the radio and everyone knows that he's a pillar of the community. But they also know that his dad was recently arrested and charged with murder for the hit and run death of a police officer. They also know that Braden is going to be the main witness in the case.

Here are some things that people don't know
- Why Braden's brother Trey left home and hasn't spoken to his dad or really Braden in years.
- What really happened to Braden's mother.
- How much Braden wants everything to go back to normal.

This is a tough look at what any one person might bring with them when they take the stand to testify. It also examines how Braden can reconcile what everyone in his small town think they know about his dad with what he knows is the truth. 

More to read

2 Authors, 1 Theme: Soldiers with Secrets

Last Minute Reviews: Split by Swati Avasthi

Off With His Head: Top 5 Headless Boys on Book Covers

I Second That: When You Were Here by Daisy Whitney