Wednesday, February 15, 2017

At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson

Librarian M has the latest from Shaun David Hutchinson on the blog today:

At the Edge of the Universe by Shaun David Hutchinson
Ozzie’s boyfriend Tommy has disappeared. No one remembers him but Ozzie, not even his friends and family. Ozzie’s parents are sending him to a series of psychiatrists to cope with this delusion, but Ozzie knows that Tommy used to exist. He also knows that the universe is shrinking and that must have something to do with Tommy’s disappearance.

This is a book about how terrible it feels to lose someone and how isolating that feeling can be. Ozzie’s loneliness manifested as the universe literally getting smaller is a wonderful metaphor for what he is going through and ends up being pretty frightening by the end of the book. What happens when you reach the end of the known world? Read At the Edge of the Universe to find out!

 

More to read:

The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley by Shaun David Hutchinson

Radio Week: "I am Disappeared" by Frank Turner

Up and Coming: History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Up and Coming: 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith

Up and Coming: The Alex Crow by Andrew Smith




Friday, February 10, 2017

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

 We're getting closer to NoVA Teen Book Festival! Today we're highlighting another of the festival's featured authors:

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown

Joanna Gordon knows who she is. She is out and proud, she's Dana's best friend and she's also a preacher's daughter who has a strong culture of faith. When her dad remarries (again), she expects that her life will go on much as it has before. But, when it's decided that they are relocating to Rome, Georgia: where her step mother is from, it turns out that her senior year is going to be drastically different than she expected.

She will be attending a new school in a new town and living in a new house. In addition to all this, her dad throws her one more curve ball: he'd appreciate it if she "laid low." Translation: he wants her to keep her sexuality quiet in their new town.  He says that he knows this is a huge ask, but promises her a trip with Dana after graduation as well as a chance at a teen-focused radio show on his radio network in exchange for "playing it quiet," so even though it makes her uncomfortable, Joanna agrees.

When Jo begins her school year, she finds herself in with a crowd of girls who attend the youth group at her grandmother's church. At first, it seems like keeping her secret will be easy enough. Her new friends are fun and she enjoys this Twilight Zone look at attending football games and sleepovers. But, she finds herself drawn to the enigmatic, golf-playing Mary Carlson. When it becomes clear that Mary Carlson likes Jo every bit as non-platonically as Jo does, keeping secrets turns into telling lies and Joanna doesn't see a way out that doesn't hurt or disappoint someone.

This is a really sweet romance with excellent banter for fans of Dumplin, Anna and the French Kiss and Ask the Passengers.

More to read:

Teen Review: Ask the Passengers by A.S. King

Teen Review: Lies We Tell Ourselves by Robin Talley

Radio Week: 'Dumplin' by Julie Murphy

Friday Lit Spotlight: Anna and the French Kiss? Yes, Please!


Wednesday, February 8, 2017

What's on Hold: February Blues Edition



 Get a jump on what's new and exciting in our stacks. Here's what TATAL has on hold: 

Lisa:
The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Saenz!

Star-Crossed by Barbara Dee
We are Okay by Nina LaCour
Ronit & Jamal by Pamela L. Laskin
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
 

Katherine:
Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor


Kady:
The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman
 

Librarian M:

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
Overturned by Lamar Giles
Piecing Me Together by Renée Watson

 
Nico:
The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera
You're Welcome, Universe by Whitney Gardner
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley

Monday, February 6, 2017

Middle School Monday: Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom by Booki Vivat




Abbie Wu is not ready for middle school. She already knows that she hates thing that are “middles,” like sitting in the middle car seat in the car and being the middle kid in the family. But, this is shaping up to be the WORST middle yet.

To start with, every student is supposed to pick electives in subjects that they’re interested in. Her best friend Logan is excited for coding classes and her other best friend Maxine can’t wait for the theater classes to start. Abbie isn’t interested in any of the subjects that you can choose.

Instead, the only thing middle school seems like it has going for it is a fancier cafeteria than in elementary school. But, when she gets to her first lunch period, it turns out that only eighth graders get an upgraded lunch option. They even get a shorter lunch line. Sixth graders get the SAME LUNCHES AS BEFORE EXCEPT MAYBE COLDER BECAUSE THE LINE IS LONGER!!!

I don’t know about you, but I am very motivated by food and so is Abby. But how can she change the rules of a school she has barely started going to? Especially when she’s too hungry to think straight?

Friday, February 3, 2017

Up and Coming: We are Okay by Nina LaCour

Today we're taking a look at the latest from an amazing author who also happens to be the NoVA Teen Book Festival keynote speaker:

We are Okay by Nina LaCour



Release date: February 14, 2017


Marin is a freshman in college in New York State. It's winter break and her roommate and the rest of the student body are headed home for the holidays. But, not Marin. She and the campus groundskeeper are the only folks sticking it out for the break.

Marin has great plans to stay warm and make it through her Netflix queue. But, that has to wait until after a visit from her past. Mable, the girl who used to be one of the two most important people in her life, is coming to visit for three days. Mable used to be her best friend as well as her first love. Now she is the one person who can't let Marin forget what her life used to be like.

Because Marin used to live in a house by the Pacific Ocean with her grandfather. A man who called her "Sailor," and told terrible jokes over freshly baked cakes. But, that was then and now all that's left of her old life is ghosts. Marin is pretty sure that when Mable gets to her dorm, she will find out that Marin is a ghost too.

Nina LaCour writes sadness and loneliness in a way that cuts right to your bones like a cold wind. Marin is an honest and true portrayal of what it's like to feel alone in a crowd and alone even among people who used to know you. But, at the same time, there are sparks of hope: places and people in Marin's new town, the connection that's still there with Mable when she arrives.

We are Okay is a beautifully written book all about the delicate connections between family, blood relations and found.

More to read:

Up and Coming: You Know Me Well by Nina Lacour and David Levithan

Radio Week:The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

Author Nina LaCour Talks to us About Grrl Bands, Art, Traveling and the Disenchantments!




Monday, January 30, 2017

Middle School Monday: Garvey's Choice by Nikki Grimes




Garvey's Choice by Nikki Grimes



Garvey loves to read science fiction and play video games after school with his best friend Joe.

His dad loves to unwind by playing a few rounds of catch or running laps with Garvey’s sister, Angela.

No matter how much his mom wants Garvey and his dad to find common ground, it just doesn’t seem to happen.

Instead he writes:

"Mom's got a talent
for origami, but she
can't fold me into
the jock Dad wants me to be."

But, there’s just got to be SOMETHING that the two of them have in common, even if Garvey can’t imagine what it is.

Garvey’s Choice is a book in verse that manages to tell a lot of story in not a lot of words. As you fly through the poems, you will be surprised how quickly you get to know and care about Garvey and his family.

Check out Garvey’s Choice for a fast read that packs a punch.

More to read:

Middle School Monday: I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora


Middle School Monday: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander

Middle School Monday: Awkward by Svetlana Chmakova

 


Friday, January 27, 2017

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Our review of Julie Buxbaum's latest. She will be at the NoVA Teen Book Festival on March 11!

Tell Me Three Things by Julie Buxbaum

Jessie has been reeling since her mother passed away. She's been in a haze and barely looked up when her dad found a new girlfriend and decided to move them to California. Now she's starting a new school that's much fancier than her old one and living in a house that definitely doesn't feel like hers.

What Jessie needs is a friend. What she gets is an anonymous email from someone giving her hints on how to survive at her new school. When texts and emails from her anonymous tipster start to be the highlight of her day, Jessie can't tell if that's because her life is so lonely or because she actually likes the person on the other-side of the phone.

Even when things begin to pick up for Jessie and she makes friends and joins activities, she finds that the mysterious person on the other side of the phone is still the person she most wants to share her day with. Now the question is how to find out who he is... and does she want to risk changing everything?

Told through texts and emails, Tell Me Three Things is a romantic comedy for fans of You've Got Mail and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.

More to read:

Simon Week: Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall